Unicorn Blogs

Quick Search Posts
Quick Browse Posts

2009 TRANSPLUS Andover Invitation Darts Classic

Posted by Glen Dawkins at 14:00 on 15th April 2009 in UniBlog

Basingstoke’s Paul Hogan defeated Southampton’s Sam Rooney to become only the second based Hampshire player to claim the coveted title following on from James Wade in 2006 and joins other illustrious winners in Andy Jenkins (2004), Mark Walsh (2005), Dennis Smith (2007) and last year’s champion Paul Cook.

Transplus finals has a history of producing darts of the highest quality and this year proved no exception with Hogan (30.01) edging four 5 leg sets 3-1 (2-3, 3-2, 3-2, 3-1.). Both players shared 76 scores of 100 or more and 8 maximums but the deciding factor was 13 and 11 dart legs in fifth legs of sets two and three with Rooney (28.43) waiting on a double.

Berkshire’s Craig Griffiths and Hampshire captain Kevin Ede made it to the semi finals with the latter collecting £167 for the day’s highest check-out.
Peter Evison, Paul Cook, Mick Savvery and Andover’s rising star Sean White won through to the last 8. Another Unicorn Academy starlet Charlotte Burgess reached the last 16 along with Paul Gibbs, Shayne Burgess, John Ferrell, Martin Richell, Dan Woodcraft, Aaron Turner and Andover’s Mark Thorne.

Andover’s academy is producing a stream of promising youngsters, 7 qualifying through twelve months of ranking competitions and a further two 14 year olds; Billy Day and Daniel Read drew special praise after producing performances of exceptional maturity.

Over £5500 in prize money and crystal trophies were presented by Transplus directors Roger and John Smith and MC Dave Dempsey with special thanks to all sponsors who dug deep during these harsh economic times to ensure a successful 6th Andover Classic.

Sponsors: Transplus Ltd., South West Inns, Ability Associates, Andover Fork Truck Services, International Furniture, Hampshire Executive Cars, J.B. Motors and JM White Plastering,

Champion: Paul Hogan £1500 + Trophy.
Runner up: Sam Rooney £750 + Trophy.
Semi Finalists: Craig Griffiths & Kevin Ede both £350.
Quarter Finalists: Mick Savvery, Sean White, Paul Cook and Peter Evison £150 each.
Last 16: Charlotte Burgess, Aaron Turner, Shayne Burgess, Paul Gibbs, John Ferrell, Martin Richell, Mark Thorne and Dan Woodcraft £75 each.
Highest Check-Out: 167: Kevin Ede: £167.
Transplus Best Andover Performance: Sean White.

There is 1 comment to this post

Posted by pam pask at 09:49 on 2nd October 2009

glen can you contact me please i have some news

Leave a comment
Please leave your details and message below.

Email (this will not be published)