Unicorn Blogs

Quick Search Posts
Quick Browse Posts

Unicorn pair seeded for World Championship!

Posted by Unicorn at 11:04 on 23rd September 2010 in Unicorn Darts News

Joe Cullen (above) and Arron Monk (below)
Joe Cullen (above) and Arron Monk (below)

Team Unicorn Young Guns Joe Cullen and Arron Monk have been seeded 2nd and 3rd respectively in the PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship, while entries for the Rileys Qualifiers have passed the 700 mark.

The inaugural £30,000 tournament will culminate in the Final being played at the Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace - with players from around the world having the chance to take the £10,000 first prize, and a PDC ProTour Card for 2011.

The leading eight eligible players in the PDC Order of Merit will be seeded into the Last 64 of the tournament, who will play off at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday November 6 down to the final.

The eight seeds have now been confirmed following the PDC ProTour events in Nuland, and are:

1. Michael van Gerwen (ranked 30)
2. Joe Cullen (74)
3. Arron Monk (86)
4. Michael Smith (91)
5. Tom Martin (204)
6. Ryan Herrington (307)
7. Tony Clark (307)
8. Sean White (307)
* Players ranked 307 are seeded ahead of Matt Gallett and Alex Tinsley on count-back.

The eight will be joined by a series of International Qualifiers - including Australia's Mitchell Clegg and PDC Europe Qualifiers Rico Dera and Dirk van Duijvenbode - and the Rileys Qualifiers.

A series of knockout qualifiers will be held in Rileys Darts Zones in October, with entries for these events having passed the 700 mark.

There will be 46 Rileys clubs hosting knockout qualifiers, with the expansion of their Darts Zones during 2010 enabling players in England, Wales and Scotland to have a chance of winning a spot in Barnsley.

Entries for the Rileys Qualifiers must be made by October 1 2010, and can be made online through the Rileys website

The Rileys Qualifiers will be held at the following venues:
Saturday October 16
Aberdeen, Bolton, Burton-on-Trent, Chester, Chesterfield, Coventry, Edinburgh, Hull, Inverness, Ipswich, Leicester, Lincoln, Liverpool (Birkenhead), Liverpool (Bootle), Loughborough, Manchester (Chorlton), Middlesbrough, Norwich, Peterborough, Scunthorpe, Solihull, Stafford, Stirling, Sunderland, Wigan.

Saturday October 23
Basildon, Bournemouth, Brighton, Bristol, Cardiff, Colchester, Croydon, Exeter, Gillingham, Gloucester, London (Victoria), Oxford, Plymouth, Reading, Southend, South Benfleet (Essex), Stevenage, Taunton, Torquay, Wolverhampton, Worcester.

Rileys Qualifiers will be played over the best of seven legs down to the final, which will be the best of nine legs.
Entries for the Rileys Qualifiers must be made by October 1 2010, and can be made online through the link below.

Enter the Rileys Qualifiers

There are no comments to this post yet - be the first!
Leave a comment
Please leave your details and message below.

Email (this will not be published)