Unicorn Blogs

Quick Search Posts
Quick Browse Posts

Cullen and Monk qualify in PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship

Posted by Unicorn at 17:35 on 20th August 2010 in Unicorn Darts News

Joe Cullen (above) and Arron Monk (below)
Joe Cullen (above) and Arron Monk (below)

Qualification information for the PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship has now been confirmed with Team Unicorn’s Joe Cullen and Arron Monk amongst the players exempted to the Last 64 and seeded in Barnsley.

The £30,000 tournament will take place for the first time this autumn, with the winner taking home £10,000 plus a place in the 2010 Grand Slam of Darts and a PDC ProTour Card.

The PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship is open to players aged between 16 and 21 on January 3 2011, who must have been born between 4 January 1989 and 3 January 1995.

There will be three stages to the event, with the Rileys Qualifiers in the UK and a number of International Qualifiers seeing players qualify for the Last 64.

The Last 64 will play down to the finalists at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday November 6, with the final taking place at the Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace in London.

A total of 50 players will come from Rileys Qualifiers to be held in Rileys Darts Zones around the UK, with the eight clubs who receive the highest number of entries staging a second qualifier on October 17 or 24.

A series of International Qualifiers are also being staged for the event, while the top eight PDPA members from the PDC Order of Merit at September 20 will be exempt to the Last 64 stage.

In addition to Team Unicorn’s Joe Cullen and Arron Monk - the winner of the New Kids on the Oche event in 2008, other players currently seed include Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith.

Entries for the Rileys Qualifiers must be made by October 1 2010, and can be made online through http://www.rileys.co.uk/under21champs.

The Rileys Qualifiers will be held at the following venues:
Saturday October 16
Aberdeen, Bolton, Burton-on-Trent, Chester, Chesterfield, Coventry, Edinburgh, Hull, Inverness, Ipswich, Leicester, Lincoln, Liverpool (Bootle), Loughborough, Manchester (Chorlton), Middlesbrough, Norwich, Peterborough, Scunthorpe, Solihull, Stirling, Sunderland, Wigan.

Saturday October 23
Bournemouth, Basildon, Brighton, Bristol, Cardiff, Colchester, Croydon, Exeter, Gillingham, Gloucester, London (Victoria), Oxford, Plymouth, South Benfleet (Essex), Stevenage, Taunton, Torquay, Wolverhampton, Worcester.

The PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship prize fund will be:
Winner: £10,000
Runner-Up: £5,000
Semi-finalists: £2,500 each
Quarter-finalists: £1,250 each
Last 16 losers: £625 each

In addition, the finalists will be invited to compete in the 2010 Grand Slam of Darts, as well as being invited to become a PDC ProTour Card holder for 2011 and 2012.

Photo courtesy Lawrence Lustig / PDC

There are no comments to this post yet - be the first!
Leave a comment
Please leave your details and message below.

Email (this will not be published)