Unicorn Blogs

Quick Search Posts
Quick Browse Posts

Grand Slam Joy for Newton!

Posted by Unicorn at 23:57 on 5th November 2010 in Unicorn Darts News

Grand Slam Joy for Newton!

He’s done it again!

For the second time in three years, Wes Newton has battled through to reach the 2010 Grand Slam of Darts.

Five hours and six tough matches later, Newton achieved his goal!

He edged out BDO star John Walton in the final match to get through….the former Lakeside World Champion had been in top form all night, but Newton held his nerve to win 4-2.

In the last 16, the Unicorn ace beat Michael van Gerwen in a thriller….the Dutchman looked to have the edge in the deciding leg, only for Newton to nail a brilliant 161 finish!

Newton will be joined in Monday’s GSOD draw by BDO player John Henderson, who beat Denis Ovens 4-2……another PDC veteran Dennis Priestley lost by the same score to Mark Hylton, who claimed the biggest win of his career, while the same can be said for Justin Pipe, who beat the No.1 seed Mark Walsh 4-2.

Elsewhere on Friday night at the Barnsley Metrodome, Jamie Caven and Barrie Bates both made it through to the last 32 and will both be desperately disappointed to get so close to Wolverhampton and the Grand Slam.

Caven, who was looking good all night, saved his worst performance for the biggest game and lost 4-0 to Walton, while Bates suffered a shock 4-2 defeat to David Atkins.

It was a disappointing night for the rest of Team Unicorn as well.

In the 3rd Round, John Part’s Grand Slam hopes were ended 4-1 by Ian White and Unicorn’s German ace Michael Rosenauer was unlucky to lose a last leg decider to Steve Grubb….Rosenauer had earlier beaten one of the top seeds Alan Tabern.

In round two, Joe Cullen’s big weekend started with a 4-2 defeat by Dudbridge, Kevin Painter lost in a deciding leg to Alex Roy and Arron Monk was also beaten in a decider by Gary Miles.

At the same stage, Andy Hamilton – who was the No.2 seed in Barnsley, and of course, lost in the first ever Grand Slam Final to Phil Taylor back in 2007 – suffered a whitewash, losing 4-0 to Scot John Henderson.

Back in the 1st Round, Peter Manley’s hopes were dashed 4-2 by Arron Monk, Mick McGowan lost a deciding leg to Mark Walsh and Anastasia was beaten 4-1 by Daniel Day.

Youngster Sean White was a 4-3 loser to Darren Weaver, while Petersfield Academy player Jack Marriner went down 4-2 to Ian Lever.

And there was big disappointment for former World Championship runner-up Kirk Shepherd, who was beaten 4-3 in the Preliminary Round by young Australian Mitchell Clegg.


Last 16:

Mark Hylton 4-0 John Magowan
Dennis Priestley 4-1 Mark Dudbridge
Denis Ovens 4-1 Steve Grubb
John Henderson 4-3 Steve Farmer
Wes Newton 4-3 Michael van Gerwen
John Walton 4-1 David Atkins
Justin Pipe 4-2 Darren Johnson
Mark Walsh 4-0 Mark Sweetland

Last 8 (Final qualification matches):

Wes Newton 4-2 John Walton
John Henderson 4-2 Denis Ovens
Mark Hylton 4-2 Dennis Priestley
Justin Pipe 4-2 Mark Walsh


Photo courtesy Chris Sargeant

There are no comments to this post yet - be the first!
Leave a comment
Please leave your details and message below.

Email (this will not be published)