Unicorn Blogs

Quick Search Posts
Quick Browse Posts

Circus Tavern 2010 Line-Up

Posted by Unicorn at 14:36 on 9th November 2009 in Unicorn Darts News

Circus Tavern 2010 Line-Up

No Raymond van Barneveld, No John Part, No Peter Manley......and Phil Taylor will be the No.1 seed and odds-on favourite to win the second Players Championship Finals tournament in the New Year.

The event returns to the Circus Tavern in Purfleet but this year, the headlines are being made by the players who have failed to make it.

The qualifying criteria uses the top 32 in the Players Championship Order of Merit in 2009, which is where the Unicorn trio miss out.... Barney didn't play enough events, Part was 39th equal on the table and Peter Manley just missed out. He finished 33rd, missing out by one spot and just £200 to Steve Hine.

And it will be Hine who is Taylor's first round opponent at the end of January.

James Wade is only the No.10 seed and he will feature in one of the big games of the 1st Round - a repeat of the 2009 Premier League Final against Mervyn King.

Colin Osborne's win in Scotland on Sunday promotes him to No.3 seed and he will take on Irishman Brendan Dolan in round one.

Adrian Lewis is ranked 4th and will face Tony Eccles, while Wes Newton's opponent will be Andy Jenkins. Newton's terrific run of form and first Pro Tour ranking title in Irvine, has secured him the 6th seeding in Purfleet.

There are five more Unicorn players who have qualified.....Kevin Painter plays Robert Thornton, who was beaten by Taylor in last year's final....Paul Nicholson tees off against Dennis Priestley, Jamie Caven takes on Michael van Gerwen and Terry Jenkins plays Vincent van der Voort.

'The Bull's is the No.16 seed, so faces a potential 2nd Round showdown against Taylor!

Unicorn's Barrie Bates and Kirk Shepherd also failed to make it - finishing 39th equal and 48th respectively, while another big name casualty was Wayne Mardle.

Players Championship Finals - full draw:

Phil Taylor v Steve Hine
Mark Walsh v Co Stompe
Colin Osborne v Brendan Dolan
Adrian Lewis v Tony Eccles
Steve Beaton v Peter Wright
Wes Newton v Andy Jenkins
Gary Anderson v Jelle Klaasen
Colin Lloyd v Denis Ovens
Robert Thornton v Kevin Painter
James Wade v Mervyn King
Ronnie Baxter v Mark Dudbridge
Dennis Priestley v Paul Nicholson
Alan Tabern v Andy Hamilton
Jamie Caven v Paul Nicholson
Wayne Jones v Andy Smith
Terry Jenkins v Vincent van der Voort

The tournament will be broadcast on ITV4 and takes place at the world famous Circus Tavern from January 28 to 31, 2010.


There are 3 comments to this post

Posted by TREVOR COALES at 22:03 on 10th November 2009

great to be back at the tavern, what a brilliant line up.good luck to all the players.

Posted by Canewdoncomet at 17:13 on 8th January 2010

Am I correct in thinking that the draw Stuart Pyke has listed, is redrawn after each round?
And whats the format in each round?

Posted by Paul walsh at 20:48 on 15th October 2010

Is Simon Whitlock in this competition?

Leave a comment
Please leave your details and message below.

Email (this will not be published)